30 Days – day 15

Still feeling unenthused about food I failed to shop and/or bring anything to work. Thankfully the cafe – my previous venue for so much debaucherous food gluttony – has a fruit bar in the morning.

image

Mango, strawberries, pineapple and walnuts got me to lunch.

image

I put everything raw on the salad bar over some arugula (avocado, cucumber, carrot, scallions, broccoli, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, and radishes) and topped with a couple splashes of balsamic and some sunflower seeds.

After work I went to the store and got some different ingredients – in addition to produce (bleh).

I vaguely remember “meat” sauce that contained sun dried tomatoes and walnuts, so I threw them in the blender with a soggy tomato, a red bell pepper, crushed garlic, salt and pepper. (You know – because recipes require I have any effs to give.) I tried to make some nacho cheese sauce by adding some nutritional yeast, cumin and smoked paprika to some Alfredo sauce. Yeah – not exactly amazing.

I slapped the two goops into some lettuce leaves with some avocado and scallions…. yay “tacos.”

image

It was OK but nowhere near as good as Source. At least it was different than the monotony of my recent food.

Being home only an hour or two a day is not conducive to creativity and recipe trying. I am glad I wasn’t so bored with dinner that I missed another meal out of boredom.

I do worry, though, the ugly self speak in my head as I considered putting olives on my salad (are those really raw or are you just a sucky cheater??). I also worry about the rate I’ve lost weight. I have purposely not mentioned it because that really isn’t the reason I’m doing this – though I knew I’d lose some. I don’t feel any more tired than usual – but I’m also not looking forward to whatever I allow myself to eat in 2 weeks. I think about things I love – like tempeh and Vegenaise and bread – and feel a sense of dread. The wine section at Trader Joe’s wasn’t even tempting.

I don’t really know what to make of these thoughts. I think I don’t like them but I think I can’t think of anything else.

Hmmmm… Why is two weeks of effin’ produce causing me to think so many thoughts? It’s just food. It’s only been two weeks. What the hell.

One response

  1. Why is this journey of such interest to me? Maybe because you are. Must be. And the food–well it all looks good. Like the stuff I mix in with my generally healthy efforts. (The wine section no longer calls to me, either. Livening up produce, proteins and watching out for carbs and not really being drawn to fruit or desserts. Like that…)

Leave a Reply

