Butterscotch Sauce – seriously

Because I didn’t gorge myself enough on esfihas (I did, though. I made a total pig of myself.) Kalisa made me her butterscotch sauce over coconut milk ice cream.

Sweet jeebus!

I wish this were harder to make and I wish it took a long time to cook and I wish it were made of exotic ingredients.

It’s NONE of those things and you may be finding yourself making this way too often because I can pretty much guarantee that you have all of these ingredients on hand (save the last one.)

Blame Kalisa. 😀

  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance (or other vegan butter)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup vanilla “milk” or “creamer” of your choice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp sea salt (optional)
  • whiskey (optional, to taste – approx 2-3 tbsp)

Melt the Earth Balance in a saucepan.  Stir in sugar, milk or creamer, vanilla and salt (if desired). Bring to a low boil and cook a few minutes, stirring regularly.  Remove from heat and add a splash of whiskey if you’d like.

DSC_0511

Let cool to room temperature and drown your ice cream in it!

DSC_0518

This can be stored in an air-tight container in the refridgerator. Again, I’m sorry – blame Kalisa!

Leave a Reply

