Dirty hippy granola

Inspired to eat things I love again (without obsessing over macros), I got craving granola.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE granola but can never find just the right flavors to make me happy.

  • 4 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup hemp seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 3/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 cup apple sauce
  • 2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • and whatever else your heart desires!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix all ingredients very well in a big mixing bowl.  You want to be sure that everything is saturated.

Spray non-stick spray on two cookie sheets, divide the granola between the two sheets and spread in a thin layer.  Put on top and bottom racks in oven and bake for 10 minutes.  After 10 minutes, mix granola and switch racks when you put it back in the oven. Repeat every 5-10 minutes – mixing and switching racks – until it’s all dry and golden brown.

Store in an airtight jar.  Enjoy over yogurt (I have a big tub of coconut yogurt waiting!)

6 responses

  1. I want credit for the hippy influence, haha!! I grew up on granola – vegan, no less, though I’m positive that wasn’t conscious on my mother’s part. She has made fun of me, now that I’m older and eating some of the ‘crazy stuff’ she used to throw at us as kids. 🙂

  2. Miss I am so happy you are back as I am dabbling heavily in veganism and these help, the Chloe Coscarelli book has also been a good pal lately… Hugs for you! I will be trying this granola soon.

  3. Linda – I’ll totally give you hippy credit 😉

    Snail – YAY! I am so happy to be back. I’m thinking about food ALL DAY LONG again 😀 Also, the child and I may be asking for your floor to crash on the 2nd weekend in December 😉

  4. Stupid question… what does the hemp seed taste like and will it make a pos drug result? I saw a yummy shake from the talented Narramore Creations Site and it looked yummy BUT… I don’t have fond memories of hemp seeds so I’m affraid :). Can you hold my hand over this hump? 🙂

Leave a Reply

