White bean veggie burgers

I must say that this blog has inspired me to cook all kinds of things I never have before (hello chile rellenos!) – and oddly enough, after all my years of being veg and vegan, I have never made a burger from scratch. I guess I always thought it was just as easy to buy them but I was wrong. Home made is WAY better! And EASY!

  • 2 cans of white beans, rinsed and drained (I actually soaked and cooked my own! GO ME!!)
  • 1 large carrot, grated
  • 2 big handfuls of baby spinach, julienned
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup fava bean flour (can substitute regular flour)
  • salt, pepper to taste

Saute red onion in a few drops of olive oil until softened. Set aside.

In a large bowl, mash white beans with a fork until well softened. Add carrot, spinach, sauteed onions and oatmeal, and mix well. Add flour until mixture is just starting to stick together – but is still rather wet looking. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Form mixture into patties and cook in a lightly oiled skillet over medium-high flame. Make sure to press patties down with the back of a spatula and cook on each side until they are a rich brown. (The browning helps hold them together.)

Serve on a toasted roll with vegan mayo and mustard if desired. A side of baby spinach salad with tomatoes, fake bacon bits and a splash of balsamic is a great side dish!

Makes 10 burgers

  • 155 calories
  • 27 g carbs
  • 2 g fat
  • 9 g protein
  • 7 g fiber
2 responses

Leave a Reply

