Muy Macho Nachos

Yes, I realize that I posted a recipe for nachos already – but when you improve them to an unbelievably insane extent I think another post is warranted. These are so good that I contemplated deleting the other post. Seriously.

These nachos were PURE INSANITY! Because I used spicy veggie tempeh + taco seasoning + smoky cashew queso + medium salsa, they were spicy. But in our house, spicy is good. Regular tempeh and mild salsa will bring this down to a much milder level and still totally kick ass!

If you go the spicy route like we did, I suggest you accompany it with your favorite frosty beverage!

  • 8 corn tortillas, each cut in quarters
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • 1 package tempeh (I used spicy veggie tempeh)
  • 2 cups chopped tomatoes (I used about 10 grape tomatoes cut in quarters)
  • 2 tbsp taco seasoning
  • smoky cashew queso, heated
  • salsa
  • avocado (again, I used Wholly Guacamole from Costco)
  • cilantro

Chips

I like my chips *crrrrrunchy* so I prefer to make my own. When you bake them they are also way better for you than fried!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Arrange quartered corn tortillas on the sheet and spray top with a bit more cooking spray. Cook until chips are desired crispness – for me that’s really crispy and golden brown!

Topping

Saute sliced onions in a small amount of olive oil, until just starting to soften. Roughly shred 1 package of tempeh with a cheese grater (largest holes). Add tempeh to onions and saute until tempeh is just starting to brown, stirring frequently. Add chopped tomatoes, taco seasoning and 1/2 cup water. Stir well and let simmer a few minutes.

To assemble, just start piling!

This is the first time I have grated tempeh and it will not be the last! A can of black beans added would be fantastic, too!

Seriously, I have never had nachos this good in my life – not even when I ate meat a million years ago! I would pretty much kill for another plate of them right now!

😀

Leave a Reply

