Pumpkin zucchette with roasted brussel sprouts

Until last night I was convinced that brussel sprouts were the mini cabbages of the devil. My daughter adores them. I thought they tasted like dirty socks.

But I am a good girl and I periodically recheck my “foods that I loathe” list to see if there are any changes. I have seen brussel sprouts a lot lately, roasted with richly carmelized leaves, and decided it was time to give them another shot.

OMG AM I GLAD I DID!!

  • brussel sprouts, washed, stem end cut off and cut in halves
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Seriously – that’s it!

Toss brussel sprouts with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake for 30-45 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Good god… to think all the years I’ve been saying such horrible things about them!!

Zucchetti pasta… wow!

We were shopping at the hippy grocery and came across these fascinating little things in the bulk section. Since they look like little pumpkins and BAM! I happened to have pumpkin in my freezer I thought this was certainly destiny!

  • 2 cups canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling!)
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 5-8 pieces of garlic, peeled and chopped fine
  • 1+ cup vegetable stock
  • sage, oregano, whatever savory herbs float your boat
  • salt, pepper

In a large skillet saute onion until translucent. Add garlic and spices, stir and cook over medium heat for a few minutes. Add pumpkin and vegetable stock, stir well, let simmer for 10 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Stir cooked zucchette into pumpkin sauce over low heat for a minute or two. Don’t overcook the pasta! Serve with roasted brussel sprouts.

Of course this sauce would work well with any shapely pasta and this dish would be especially festive in the fall. Thanksgiving any one?

Leave a Reply

